Two Non-traditional Pizzas

I have written before about my love of homemade pizza, but here I go again. These two versions, both made with cheese curds from my favorite Fields of Grace Farm, are not exactly your run of the mill Margheritas, but they were both quite good.

This first one I made was a Mexican pizza. Taco sauce replaced the traditional tomato, and it was topped with onions, bell peppers, jalapeños (only on my part), and onion flavored cheese curds on a cornmeal-influenced crust.

Yum.

Ian initially thought this sounded gross, but after one bite he had to agree that it was pretty darn good.

This pizza, which I made for my Oscar party of one, was also quite tasty. I par-roasted (cooked part way in the oven) thinly sliced potatoes, onions, and garlic, which I layered on a whole wheat pizza crust, that had been brushed with olive oil mixed with (defrosted) frozen basil, and topped with garden herb flavored cheese curds.

This pizza crust was harder to work with than most and took a little longer to cook, but the result was very satisfying. The nutty whole wheat flavor of the crust went well with the cheese and potatoes, and I was very happy about it.

One Response to Two Non-traditional Pizzas

  1. Jaime says:

    I was virtually at your Oscar party. I should have been given pizza! Those look really tasty–I’m very interested to try using cheese curds.

Leave a Reply

