A Quinoa Salad for Spring

I almost followed a recipe today. It sounded so good, and I really wanted to try it as it was written. It was for a Quinoa Salad with Arugula, Asparagus, and Avocado, by Cooking with Amy. You can read it if you click on the first link there. Unfortunately, when I cut into my avocado, it was rotten, and Ian didn’t care to go out and get me another. So instead I just made a quinoa salad with arugula and asparagus. Other than the avocado, I followed the recipe quite closely, although I used bottled lemon juice because it is what I had on hand, omitted the optional dill, and finished it with a sprinkle of parmesan.

In case you didn’t click on the recipe, which you most certainly should do, the dish consists of  thinly shaved asparagus, arugula, (avocado), green onions, and quinoa (a South American fruit, technically, that resembles a grain) in a lemon-olive oil dressing. It tasted quite good, but it needed the avocado to cut the acidity. It also wasn’t very filling, which the avocado might also have fixed. Both Ian and I were still hungry, even though he also had a chicken breast.

I made Ian a pan-fried chicken breast seasoned with lemon (maybe a little too much) and black pepper. After defrosting the chicken, I dipped it in a mixture of lemon and melted butter, and then in a mixture of all-purpose flour, corn flour, garlic, salt, and pepper. I was afraid the lemon wouldn’t be enough, though, so I poured the lemon butter into the frying oil. This was a bad idea; it lowered the smoking point of the oil, so the fat began to burn before the chicken was done, and also the lemon flavor was a bit too much (how could I have known?). Also the batter crumbled and stuck to the pan, though I don’t know if that was the fault of the lemon butter, or the corn flour added to the mix, since I have had similar problems with fried green tomatoes made with the same corn flour. Oh well, I will know better next time.

Leave a Reply

