Pasta Peperonata

I hadn’t felt well earlier today, so I just wanted to make a simple dinner tonight. Earlier this week Ian had requested pasta and garlic bread, so I thought that sounded good. I had 3 bell pepper halves left over from the fajitas last week, so I decided to make pasta peperonata. This was actually the first meal I ate in Russia, because my first flatmate there was Italian, and she made it the night I arrived.

Pasta Peperonata:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 of a sweet onion (Ian really likes onion so I used more like 3/4)
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 1/2 bell peppers (I used 1/2 each of yellow, orange, and red)
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar (I used white balsamic vinegar)
  • salt and pepper
  1. Warm a large frying pan over medium heat, then add the olive oil. When it is warm, add the onions and garlic, and sweat them until the onions are translucent. Then add the peppers, and continue to cook until the peppers are soft. Add the basil, salt, and pepper. When the pan starts to get sticky, add the balsamic vinegar.
  2. Meanwhile, boil half of a box of penne pasta in salted water. When it is al dente, drain, but safe a few tablespoons of the pasta water to add to the peppers. Add the pasta to the skillet and stir to combine. Plate and top with parmesan cheese.

I served this with garlic bread (which probabaly could have used a few more minutes in the oven and a little more butter, but it was still good). It is really good comfort food that is also easy to make.

Leave a Reply

