Kale and Polenta Stuffed Pumpkin

I love stuffed vegetables because they are so versatile. There are so many different possibilities for vegetables and fillings: tomatoes, eggplants, zucchini and peppers in the summer, and cabbage and all sorts of squashes and pumpkins in the winter months.

The stuffed squashes I made tonight were based on this recipe on the blog What We All Want. However when I saw this recipe, my first thought was, that is far to many pots and pans. So I adapted it to fit my weeknight sensibilities.

I started by roasting a small pumpkin, with butter, salt, and pepper, at 350 F until it was fork tender. This took a while, but that was okay, I had other things to do.

I melted some butter in the skillet, and added some onion and garlic. When the garlic started to brown, I added about 2 cups of kale, with the stems removed. When it wilted (pictured above), which didn’t take long, I added enough vegetable broth to cover the bottom of the pan. When the broth started simmering, I added 1/8 cup uncooked polenta. As the polenta absorbed the broth, I added more until it was cooked, then seasoned it (a little too) generously with salt and pepper.

When the polenta was done, I spooned the filling into the pumpkin halves, topped with some gouda, pine nuts, and parmesan, and then broiled it for a few more minutes until the cheese was bubbly and the pine nuts were toasted.

This was very filling and more than enough for me, but Ian was still a little hungry and ate some leftover pizza, too. Unfortunately winter squashes are at the end of their season, so I will have to wait to make it again.

Leave a Reply

