I hate squirrels!

I used to think squirrels were cute, but then I started gardening, and things like this happened.

It is hard to see in this picture, but almost all my tiny carrot sprouts, that only just started coming in, were uprooted. I tried replanting a few, but I don’t know if this is going to work.

They also rooted a bit through the radishes, which are growing like wildfire, but not as much. I guess squirrels don’t like radishes as much as they like carrots.

My beets are also starting to come in, which is exciting. They were untouched by our little rodent friends.

Also untouched, knock on wood, was the lettuce bowl. Last Sunday I added some Catalina spinach seeds to the mix, so I am looking forward to everything growing up.

Finally, my first fava bean sprout has emerged. I only planted 4 of these, which might have been a mistake, because this pot was rooted through a while back, and I am not sure how many are left to sprout.

Oh well. You live and you learn. And you buy a wooden owl.

Leave a Reply

