Dinner for My Sister

My sister has come to visit me. I love her very much, but she is not the most adventurous eater in the world. She really likes chicken, and cheese…but not pepper jack or ricotta. I bought all sorts of things for her arrival that I don’t usually buy, like peanut butter granola bars and Goldfish crackers.

So for dinner tonight I made some things that I thought she would enjoy.

I started with a salad. This was just mixed greens, Vidalia onion slices, a piece of Buffalo Mozzarella from Blue Ridge Dairy with salt and pepper, and a simple red wine vinaigrette.

I also made macaroni & cheese, which is one of my sister’s favorite foods. I started by melting butter (also from Blue Ridge Dairy), and adding an equal amount of flour, stirring to make a roux. After a couple minutes, I added 2% milk to make a sauce. I let it thicken for a while, then stirred in about 1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese and 1 1/2 cups plain cheese curds (both from Field of Grace Farms). After the cheese melted and the sauce was adequately thick, I removed it from heat and added salt and pepper. Meanwhile, I had boiled a whole bag of Trader Joe’s Fusili pasta, but left it undercooked.

I drained the pasta, and put it in an 8×8 baking dish. I poured the sauce over it and mixed it in. Then I put it in a 350 F oven for about 10 minutes. Then I put parmesan cheese on top and broiled it at 500 F for about 3 minutes. The top layer of pasta got a little crunchy, but it was good.

I also served the meat-eaters panfried chicken breasts that had been dredged in flour and Lowry’s Seasoned Salt.

Everything tasted good, and was filling. I think it was quite sucessful. I will be taking my sister to some restaurants (see reviews here and here) I like while she is here, so stay tuned on my other blog.

Leave a Reply

