Simple Spaghetti with Tomato-Kale Sauce and Cheesy Breadsticks

After last night’s heavy dinner (and leftovers for lunch today) I wanted something lighter for dinner tonight. I had bought some very pretty, green, curly kale at the farmers’ market last Saturday, so I decided to cook it down into a pasta sauce.

I started by sauteeing onion and garlic in onive oil on low in my large frying pan. Then I added the kale, with the stems removed and torn to pieces (I wasn’t feeling fancy), and cooked it down for about 7 minutes.

I added a few generous pinches of salt, some black pepper, dried red pepper flakes and dried oregano. Then I added a jar of tomatoes (1 pint) and cooked it down for another 15 minutes until the sauce reduced. Meanwhile, I boiled half a box of spaghetti. When the spaghetti was al dente, I drained the pasta and added it to the sauce and tossed. I plated the pasta and topped it with a little parmesan.

However, I knew this would not be enough for Ian, who likes a little more heft to his dinners. When I looked in the fridge, I saw a bag of pizza dough that I had bought at Trader Joe’s last weekend. This variety has a pesto flavor, and I thought it would make good breadsticks. I also remembered I had some Italian Herbs flavored cheese curds from Field of Grace farm (find them at the Arlington farmers’ market).

Now stay with me here because I forgot to take pictures of the process. I rolled the dough out into a longish rectangle, and then cut it into 8 even(ish) pieces. I then wrapped a few small pieces of cheese in the dough and rolled it into a breadstick shape. I put them on a oiled baking sheet, topped them with melted butter, garlic powder, and parmesan cheese. I then baked them at 4oo F for 7 minutes.

The cheese in these was melty and the bread was doughy and tasted strongly of basil. Ian and I both thought they were very good, but the pasta didn’t have quite enough sauce for them. Next time I might make them their own sauce. Oh well.

One Response to Simple Spaghetti with Tomato-Kale Sauce and Cheesy Breadsticks

  1. Phillie says:

    This pasta sounds good.

Leave a Reply

