You Can’t Always Get What You Want

Last Saturday, I was so happy. When I was at the farmers’ market, the mushroom lady said that this might be the last week for chanterelles until the fall…and she only had two baskets of them. The lady in front of me and I promptly shelled out our $10 each for the pint, even though my favorite hedgehog mushrooms were at the end of their season, too.

Tonight I was tired and wanted something filling and tasty, so I thought I would roast the chanterelles with sweet potatoes. To do this, I cubed the sweet potato, roasted it at 350 F with olive oil, salt, pepper, thyme, and whole garlic cloves (crushed a little). About 7 minutes after I started the potatoes, I added the mushrooms. I cooked them another 15 minutes or so, then sprinkled on some parmesan cheese, and then put them back in for 5 more minutes.

I really wanted this dish to be spectacular, but it fell flat. The sweet potatoes tasted great, but the mushrooms were rubbery and so tasteless that even adding salt didn’t help. I was not happy. Ian had a chicken breast (dredged in a tiny amount of flour, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and thyme, then pan-fried), which he said might have been the best chicken breast I have ever cooked (yay! I am getting better), so he didn’t mind picking the mushrooms out and just eating the sweet potatoes. I, however, had to scavenge the kitchen for something else to eat.

As for the reason I was tired… I was really busy this weekend.

I got started on my early spring planting yesterday. Boy is my back sore. Hopefully it will be worth it.

We have fava beans…

A mixture of lettuces…

multi-colored carrots…

mixed heirloom beets..

and four types of radishes: daikon, watermelon, cherry belle (regular), and French breakfast. I also prepped some pots for herbs, spinach, swiss chard, and kale, but it is still a little early for planting them, so I will wait a couple more weeks. Stay tuned for updates.

Leave a Reply

