Mushroom Stroganoff

Now for the main course from last night’s dinner. You can find dessert here. I have been on a bit of of a mushroom and pasta kick. Last week, I made pesto tortelloni with hedgehog mushrooms, and this week, I made mushroom stroganoff. While stroganoff is usually made with beef, the combination of portabello and button mushrooms was quite filling.

I found a recipe that I mostly followed on AllRecipes. I did make some changes to my taste, though. What I really made was this:

Mushroom Stroganoff

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • chopped mushrooms (6 oz portabellas and 8 oz buttons)
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable broth (I actually used 1 cup stock and 1/2 cup broth)
  • 1 1/2 cups sour cream (1/2 cup regular and 1 cup light, roughly, I just eyeballed it)
  • 1 tsp each dried dill and parsley
  • salt and pepper
  • fresh parsley to garnish
  • egg noodles

The broth/stock and sour cream combos were mostly created to use up what I had on hand. I was a little sad that the mushroom lady wasn’t at the farmers’ market this week, but I made do with supermarket varieties.

  1. Melt butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onion, and cook, stirring until softened. Add sliced mushrooms. Cook for a few minutes
  2. Add vegetable broth. Bring to a simmer, and cook until the mixture has reduced to a thick sauce. Add dried herbs, salt, and pepper to taste.

  1. Meanwhile, bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a rolling boil. Add egg noodles, and cook until al dente. Remove from heat, drain, and set aside. **Very important** Check the noodles to see if they need more salt.
  2. Remove the pan from the heat, stir in the sour cream. Serve over the egg noodles and garnish with the parsley and a little parmesan cheese.

Because I used mushrooms instead of beef, I altered the seasonings to make the sauce taste more like mushrooms with sour cream, a traditional Russian side dish. The dish was overall very successful, although I wasn’t really a fan of the parsley garnish. Fresh dill would have been nicer. Oh well, next time.

.

Leave a Reply

