Peach Custard Tarts

I am going to split up tonights dinner into two posts, and in the true spirit of a five year old, I am going to pick dessert first.

Like all good desserts, this was totally improvised.

Step 1) The Base

For the base of this tart, which was slightly too crumbly to be called a crust, I crumbled five gingerbread cookies leftover from Christmas in a mini food processor (don’t worry, they were frozen). The cookies were large and quite hard. If you were using store-bought cookies, you would probably need 10-15, depending on their size. I mixed the crumbs with 4 tbsp butter, which saturated the mixture, but just barely. I pressed the crumbs into these cute little individual casserole dishes I have.

Step 2) The Filling

I opened a jar of spiced peaches in honey syrup that I canned last summer. The peaches were sliced and then cooked in a mixture of honey and simple syrup then hot packed with cloves, cinnamon, and white pepper. I put a few slices of peach in each dish. I then made a simple custard by mixing together the following ingredients.

  • 1 cup milk (2%)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/8 tsp salt

I then poured the custard over the peaches. This made more custard than I needed, so I poured the extra into a large ramekin and cooked it with the tarts.

Step 3) Cooking

I made an improvised bain marie by putting the mini casseroles in a 9×13 metal pan and filling it with water until it was halfway up the sides. I baked them at 350 degrees for about an hour until the custard was completely set.

There you go. A perfect ending to a lovely meal.

One Response to Peach Custard Tarts

  1. […] Now for the main course from last night’s dinner. You can find dessert here. I have been on a bit of of a mushroom and pasta kick. Last week, I made pesto tortelloni with […]

Leave a Reply

